What dairy or ag-related extracurricular activities are you involved in? I am involved in the Westfield FFA, the Springfield Funrunners 4-H Club and the Wisconsin Holstein Association. I have participated in many events including judging, showing and career development events. I have also held many leadership roles by serving in office and helping youth with projects.

Why are you involved in these activities/organizations and what is your favorite? I am involved in these activities as it is a great way for me to meet new people and learn more about agriculture. My favorite organization to be a part of is the Wisconsin Holstein Association. Through WHA, I have met many people who I will be able to work with in the future. This year, I will also serve as a JAC for the Wisconsin Holstein Association. I am excited to dive into this new role and become more involved.
 
Tell us your best experience during your time in these activities/organizations. My favorite experiences in all of the events would be working with younger members in an organization. From youth in our 4-H club to younger kids in my high school, I enjoy teaching them about agriculture and its importance.

What is your favorite social media? Instagram. I find Instagram useful when connecting with friends from around the country. I can also advocate for agriculture by posting about weekly questions related to different topics and events.

What are your career aspirations? After college I would love to become an agriculture teacher. I have had many experiences teaching youth and would love to make it my job to show people the importance of agriculture.

What is something you have learned from being involved in these activities/organizations? I have learned a lot about public speaking and self-accountability. I have also developed many skills I will use for a lifetime.

Who do you look up to? My mother, Dawn Hockerman. My mom has attended college and now is employed within my family’s dairy. She has shown me the importance of hard work and that I can do anything I put my mind to. My mom serves as a role model by holding a strong female voice in the dairy industry while raising a family.

Tell us something about yourself that many people do not know. I am actually going to attend a technical school for my first two years of college. I will attend Rock Valley College to play softball and receive my general classes before transferring to a four-year university to receive my degree.  

Tell us some of your duties on the farm. I am responsible for running calf chores. Some of these tasks include newborn calf care, feeding milk, vaccinations, bedding and record keeping. I also assist with drying up cows, transportation of animals and heifer breeding. I am grateful for the role on my family’s farm as it has helped me diversify my dairy background.

If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be and how would you change it? If I could change one thing in the world it would be the knowledge of consumers. I would use social media, news articles and face-to-face communication to answer questions that consumers have about the production of their food. With consumers trusting farmers, they have more knowledge and trust in us to grow and produce their food.